A Monster Calls

Hi everyone!

Happy Friday! So, I wanted to talk to you guys about something important…

The art of letting go is one of the biggest obstacles we face in our daily lives. We convince ourselves that everything is going to be okay, but the reality is that we can’t mask the darkness, the pain and the guilt. Sometimes we need to look at the facts or open our eyes to the harsh phenomenon that is life. Of course, I’m not saying letting someone or something go isn’t hard because the truth is….it is.Screen-shot-2013-04-30-at-8.58.51-PMEveryone copes with pain in different ways. I for one know that sometimes, we don’t want to get to that last page were everything starts to fall apart and we get to see what’s really happening in front of us. I’ve dealt with pain and grief. I know what it’s like and let me tell you, it ain’t easy trying to let someone or something go.

We’ve had people in our lives that we believe we can’t live without and when darkness arrives we try to run and avoid it. We go through denial, pretending everything is going to be okay. We want the pain to stop and we never want to let go. Life goes on, unfortunately, and we need to accept the truth. However, we will cherish the memories we have because at the end of the day, we are thankful for having that person in our life.

Having said this I have the perfect book that will take you through all of these stages in life. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness is a masterpiece. I have never read a book that I will, truly, love forever. Thus, here I am telling you, my fellow and dear reader, that this book is a must to buy.

 076365633x

I usually like to write my own summaries every time I recommend you guys a book, but this time I’m going to let Amazon do the talking because I can’t think of a way to write this summary without spoiling too much. So here it goes…

“At seven minutes past midnight, thirteen-year-old Conor wakes to find a monster outside his bedroom window. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting– he’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments. The monster in his backyard is different. It’s ancient. And wild. And it wants something from Conor. Something terrible and dangerous. It wants the truth. From the final idea of award-winning author Siobhan Dowd– whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herself– Patrick Ness has spun a haunting and darkly funny novel of mischief, loss, and monsters both real and imagined” (Amazon.com) 

I seriously recommend you to read this book. Trust me YOU will NOT REGRET IT! It’ll teach you so much including the value of life, love and the art of letting go.

This is the trailer of the book just in case you guys need a little bit more of persuading.

Plus, here is the link for you guys to buy the book in Amazon…

http://www.amazon.com/Monster-Calls-Inspired-idea-Siobhan/dp/0763660655

PS. This amazing book has won the Carnegie Medal and the Greenaway Medal. Just saying! Go read it! ❤

PSS. It also includes amazing illustrations by Jim Kay.

PSSS. The Music Enthusiast was the one that recommended me to read this book.

PSSSS. The movie is coming out October 21, 2016

This post is dedicated to my grandfather. Grandpa! I love you so much and I miss you…Happy 74th Birthday! I wish you were here, but thank you for the memories.

Love, The Little Writer 

 

Leave a Reply

