Live A Life You Will Remember

Avicii Lyrics

Last week I heard Avicii’s latest hit “The Nights”. I saw the music video far too many times to count, and by now I already know about 90% of the song.

The song says:

One day my father—he told me,
“Son, don’t let it slip away.”
He took me in his arms, I heard him say,

“When you get older
Your wild heart will live for younger days
Think of me if ever you’re afraid.”

He said, “One day you’ll leave this world behind
So live a life you will remember.”
My father told me when I was just a child
These are the nights that never die
My father told me

The music video is a compilation of Rory Kramer’s Lake Life 2 – Lost In The Moment video. Rory Kramer says that the best way to describe him “would be by using the phrase ‘Professional life liver’, as he strives to live each day to the fullest, because he thinks doing it any other way would be a waste”. Hands down, this video is one of my favorites. It’s an inspiration.

The song was written by the singer-songwriter Nicholas “RAS” Furlong, and after writing some amazing lyrics for his father, by adding the Avicii touch, the song took an epic turn. The song lists everything most parents tell and wish for their children. Parents want the best for their kids, so the best advice they can give them is to live life to the fullest without any regrets. But you see, we live our lives working our butt off every day in order to put bread on the table and give our families the best life. And, the sad part is that we get tired and sometimes don’t get the opportunity to do anything else but work, which eventually turns into a sad and monotonous life. Then, a monotonous life has no meaning whatsover, and that’s where our parent’s advices come in. Once in a while we need to take these leaps of faith, these leaps into the unknown, and just live. I’m not saying it’s easy, and I’m not saying that anyone can do it anytime, anywhere. I’m just saying that we all need a break to do something extraordinary so we can look back in life and say, “I lived”. That’s why I believe we should all listen to our parents when it comes to this.

As I said, for me, the song is an inspiration. The video is an inspiration. People, music, words are an inspiration. And well, sometimes we need these songs, we need these videos and these people in order to realize that nothing is impossible.

So, thank you Avicii, you never cease to amaze me with your work, and thank you Rory Kramer for being such an amazing inspiration.

I HIGHLY recommend everyone to watch this video and right afterwards start working on clearing that bucket list. I know I am.

Here’s the video:

& Here’s Rory Kramer’s YouTube Channel so you can check him out! (WHICH YOU DEFINITELY MUST!!!!)

Have a musical week, my friends!

Until our next song,

Your Music Enthusiast ♫

One thought on “Live A Life You Will Remember

  1. Pingback: Web Wednesday: What Makes You Happy? | The Little Writing Factory

Leave a Reply

