Only Time Will Tell

I think most of us have heard of the saying “Do what you love, love what you do.”
And I think many of us wish to follow it and make it our everyday motto.
But it’s not that simple.

Last week I was M.I.A. due to the fact that I was taking a very much needed vacation. I went on a cruise with my boyfriend and we had the opportunity to take a breather from our worlds. However, I did encounter some stressful moments.

I am a very superstitious person, and while being on vacation there were too many signs and coincidences that brought me back to the realities that I wanted to forget for the moment, i.e., Grad School. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve been thanking God because I was accepted in the universities that I wanted to be accepted in. I just don’t know which one to pick now. And I never thought that trying to make the decision would be so difficult and that it would drain me so much. Now I find myself in a state where I have to choose between what I love or, unfortunately, what’s economically good for me.

What ever happened to “Do what you love,” right?

IMG_9912

However, during one of the shows of the cruise, the song “Only Time” by Enya was played. And I felt like it was a bit soothing to listen to her words:

“Who can say where the road goes?
Where the day flows?
Only time.”

Time. That’s the key, isn’t it? Taking things one step at a time and letting time takes its toll. Our fate, our destiny, all our beings, I believe it all depends on time and how we decide to use it. I ponder on life, on my future, not knowing what to do or what to choose.

“Who can say why your heart sighs
As your love flies?
Only time.”

Choosing between what you love and what would benefit you is difficult. It’s either follow your heart or follow society. It’s a tough decision, and who can really say what my future holds? Who can tell me what to do, what to think, what to choose? And once I’ve made that choice, who is to say my heart’s happy with that decision? I guess that as Enya sings, the answer to my questions is “Only time.”

So take things one step at a time, my friends. Even on the days when you want to forget your worries or your sorrows they will still be there within you. You just have to give it some time. Give yourself some time to be better and follow the path of your life. Wherever it might take you. And hopefully, it will take you to what you love.

IMG_9912

Until our next time,

Your Music Enthusiast ♫

Leave a Reply

